Mark Strong, Jade Anouka and Chris Mason join Dune: The Sisterhood

With Dune: The Sisterhood in the early stages of filming, more cast members have been announced for the HBO Max series with Mark Strong (Tár), Jade Anouka (His Dark Materials) and Chris Mason (Broadchurch) the latest to join the Dune spin-off prequel.

Dune: The Sisterhood will take place 10,000 years prior to Dune and will chart the creation of the powerful all-female sect the Bene Gesserit, which by the time of Dune wields incredible influence over the Imperium and its leading families.

Strong will play Emperor Javicco Corrino, “a man from a great line of war-time Emperors, who is called upon to govern the Imperium and manage a fragile peace.”

Anouka will play Sister Theodosia, “a talented and ambitious acolyte at the Sisterhood who harbors a dangerous secret about her past.”

Mason will be as Keiran Atreides, “a Swordmaster to a Great House whose ambition to live up to his family name is disrupted when he forms an unexpected connection to a member of the royal family.”

Dune: The Sisterhood follows “the Harkonnen Sisters as they combat forces that threaten the future of humankind, and establish the fabled sect known as the Bene Gesserit.”

Diane Ademu-John created the series and will executive produce with Alison Schapker, who is also acting as showrunner. Chernobyl director Johan Renck is directing the pilot for The Sisterhood while Dune director Denis Villeneuve will also executive produce as he continues filming Dune: Part Two.

Dune: The Sisterhood will star Emily Watson (Chernobyl), Shirley Henderson (See How They Run), Indira Varma (Star Wars: Obi-Wan Kenobi), Sarah-Sofie Boussnina (The Colony), Shalom Brune-Franklin (The Tourist), Faoileann Cunningham (The Northman), Aoife Hinds (Hellraiser), Chloe Lea (Foundation) and Travis Fimmel (Vikings).

Ricky Church – Follow me on Twitter for more movie news and nerd talk.


Leave a Comment